COMP rotations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

enilojna

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm very new to this and just have a question about where to do rotations. I'm still an undergrad student at CSUN and haven't taken any premed classes yet...so here goes...

I'm interested in going to Western U COMP but if say i want to go to Yale for an Anesthesiology residency, should I (or can I) do my rotations at Yale? Or does it matter where I do them? I'd like to stay in so. Cal, but if it's better to move to New Haven, CT, then I i will.

Thanks in advance.
Anjoline

Members don't see this ad.

Why the interest in Western U COMP? You are very early in your premed career. Why not aim for one of the UC med schools? They are cheaper and have a better rep than Western. Just work hard and make it happen for yourself. I doubt you will have trouble matching in any anesthesia program after a decent showing at any of the UC medical schools.

nimbus said:
Why the interest in Western U COMP? You are very early in your premed career. Why not aim for one of the UC med schools? They are cheaper and have a better rep than Western. Just work hard and make it happen for yourself. I doubt you will have trouble matching in any anesthesia program after a decent showing at any of the UC medical schools.

Thanks for the advice. Actually, I'm a nontrad student. I've messed up my undergrad pretty bad, and have a year to bring up my GPA. (i have a 2.8 right now). After I graduate, I was going to take my postbaccs at CalPoly Pomona since it's a quarter system and I can be done by Spring '08. I'm a massage therapist right now and really relate to the DO route. If I do get into an allo school, I'll still might want to learn OMM after.

If I raise my GPA to at least a 3.0, and then shine when I take my post bacc classes, will my new GPA make a big difference? Or am I doomed with my undergrad GPA?