Comparing work load during Opt. School-vs-work load studying for OAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Framecontrol

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey just a real quick question.

Although I am not sweating it, I am finding that I have zero free time now that my OAT is approaching.

I work 4 days a week at a private practice.
I am taking physics II 4 days a week.
I am studying all the time for the OAT that I have in 1 month.

The work load is heavy, it is intense, and it is not fun.

How does this compare to work load in OPT school if you had to put yourself in my position.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

OPT school (at least in my experience) was a boatload of work. Way way more volume than anything I did before or since.

Back in the day, the OAT was administered only Feb and Oct. Is it computer-based now?

I'm in the same boat. I work about 43 hours a week, take 17 hrs of classes and don't really have time for anything. However, I'm looking ahead and forward to opt school just for the simple reason that I will stop working completely :)

Members don't see this ad :)
Lol! Way back in the day when I took the OAT, is was last minute, and I studied the only OAT test prep manual available at the time a week before. I gathered any notes I could find in the months prior but I never actually studied. I heard there are prep courses and everything nowadays. It seems so overkill to me when I realize what I did and the scores I got. I had a 330 in almost everything, with 390s in math and "verbal" but a low 290 in Physics. Of course, I would be the first to admit that had I really focused, I would have done better than a 360.