Concern about re-applying for fellowship post-residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Reubens

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
This might seem kind of silly, but I am a med student with a variety of interests but I am definitely very into the procedural aspects of medicine. I have been debating radiology, general surgery (probably not my thing), and IM but while I like the idea of being initially trained to be a quality internist, I have concerns about having to re-apply for a fellowship after. I am genuinely fascinated by the anatomy of the abdomen and doing GI is my absolute dream, yet it is very competitive and it concerns me. I am not opposed to Pulm/CC, Cards, but after that I would be worried about not having the procedural aspect in my career and those are also competitive.

I am more curious about how competitive GI really is...since the stats make it seem that 85% of US MDs do in fact match, but I wasn't sure if its a case of a very selective sample or what. I was wondering if anyone had similar thoughts when going into IM, and how they rationalized it and maybe just for some general advice about the process. I would post in the GI forum but its pretty dead. I am likely competitive for very solid programs and I am willing to let faculty know of my interests very early on in residency in regards to rotations, research, etc. if thats how it works, but I don't really know exactly how it works yet haha. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

First if you are competitive enough for radiology, you are probably competitive enough for a reasonable academic IM program (mid tier or better) which will make your chances of matching GI pretty high- likely higher than the 85%