Concerns of a 2nd time applicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pswags

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all!

This is my particular scenario. I am an early graduate (1 semester) of college, and after 1 round of unsuccessful applications, will be applying again. I would like to know what my chances are.

Here are the relevant data:

Ethnicity: Indian American

Major:Neuroscience, Magna Cum Laude
GPA: 3.7 overall, 3.6 science
Last MCAT: 29R (retake to happen June 21st)

Work and Activities:

Research
  • University of Florida: Department of Pharmacodynamics (2 years, 2 Poster Presentations)
  • National Institutes of Health Bethesda MD, Poster Presentation
  • National Institutes on Drug Abuse, Baltimore MD, Poster Presentation (2006)
  • Fels Institute for Cancer Research and Molecular Biology (2004-2005), Philadelphia, PA

Honors and Distinctions
  • Academic Scholarship Freshman Year
  • Dean's list throughout college
  • Phi Kappa Phi

Medical Volunteering:
  • Adolescent Palliative Care Peer Mentoring (one of the single most imporant things on my AMCAS)
  • Clincal Shadowing, 1 neurosurgeon (no rec, not asked) 1 pediatric general surgeon (1 rec, asked)

Leadership
  • Elected Treasurer, vicepresident (2 years in a row) of the largest ethnic organization on campus, several distinct responsibilties

Personal Statement
PM for it, please.

Ladies and Gents, this is essentially what I submitted to med school last year. There are details within each bulletpoint, and if you want more information, please ask. But any help would be appreciated in judging how I'll fare next year.

This is what I plan on doing on my year off: I plan on going to India for 3 months to work alongside a free ophthalmology clinic to help provide accessible healthcare at subsidized (and in many cases, free) costs.