Confidence

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Maali

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Am I the only one that confidence goes down when I get less than A's on exams. I got my first physics exam 2 weeks back and it was a low B. Now for the past weeks I haven't been confident. I'm studying my ass off for the next one and am pretty sure I'll get an A but does anyone's confidence rely on your grades haha. Or am I just crazy.

And no I'm not ugly that all I care about is grades, I just realized that the better my grades, the more confident I am in many aspects of my life.

Members don't see this ad.

That makes sense. When expectations aren't met, you tend to loose confidence that they ever will be. Obviously that's not true, but it's the way we often feel. Try some different ways of thinking and coping next time you come in contact with that particular stressor. You may be able to figure out a way to counter act the blooming negativity you feel in response.

That makes sense. When expectations aren't met, you tend to loose confidence that they ever will be. Obviously that's not true, but it's the way we often feel. Try some different ways of thinking and coping next time you come in contact with that particular stressor. You may be able to figure out a way to counter act the blooming negativity you feel in response.
Great comment. Also I'd say define yourself as something other than "student" or "medical student". Think of yourself as something else. Maybe as someone who is a true gentleman. Gentlemen can get B's and remain gentlemen. "Students", "Medical Students", and "doctors" can be real dicks sometimes, but nice guys and gentlemen make themselves feel good by helping others.

Members don't see this ad :)
It's perfectly normal. Just get your confidence back because confidence plays a huge role receiving good grades; don't let it stay low.