Considering a PsyD. Help?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ToTheLighthouse

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am currently an undergraduate student, majoring in philosophy.
I have the goal of eventually setting up a private practice in psychotherapy/psychoanalysis.
I would like do therapy part-time, and with the rest pursue other interests.
I would like to a therapist that has a good name, a good reputation, and would like to steer as clear as possible from spending too much time reaching out for clients.
I feel like having a PsyD would place me above some of the other therapists in the field (those practicing with an LCSW for instance), especially with people browsing net-databases for therapists more and more.
I have two concerns,
one: That I may have to drop my major in Philosophy (which I love) and switch to Psychology (which because of a lack of experience, am not so sure I will enjoy as much).
and two: That in order to get into a respectable school for the purpose of attaining a PsyD, would require me to do many things, that I may not be otherwise interested in (certain psych. courses etc., fussing over my resume, and whether I have enough research experience etc.)

On top of that, I'm not sure that having a PsyD will be essential for what I would eventually like to achieve i.e. a successful part-time (in-home) private practice, which could financially sustain the existence of a single person in an urban setting.
Will it really give me an edge over the LCSWs in my area?

By the way, I'm relatively well-off, so the cost of schooling is not a major concern.

What do you all think?

Members don't see this ad.

Hello all,

By the way, I'm relatively well-off, so the cost of schooling is not a major concern.

What do you all think?

Is it you or your family that is relatively well off? : ) Sorry, I just couldn't resist.