Considering Applying MD / PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

s3rr8s

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good evening all - I hate to use this board as a "what are my chances" forum, but it seems like this is the best place to post for MD /PhD program specifics.

About me - I graduated from my state's university in May of last year, intending to apply MD in the last cycle. I decided to take an additional gap year after posting a thread last year basically outlining my anxieties about lacking some health related EC's. I ended up taking an additional gap year as recommended by some SDN heavyweights to gain some more clinical experience and volunteer work.

As the next cycle approaches, I've begun drafting my autobiography (required by school health professions office) and personal statement, but as I put my thoughts/feelings to paper, I have come to think that I may be a slightly better fit for pursuing a career as a physician scientist than just a physician. Bear with me, as I've only had these thoughts for a few weeks and haven't exactly given this a great deal of thought as of yet.

I have spent my time after graduation split between working as a medical scribe part time, TA'ing general chemistry lab at my old university, volunteering a few hours a week at a local soup kitchen, and continuing research with my undergraduate lab.

While I did thoroughly enjoy my time as an undergraduate researcher, and continue to enjoy the work I do today, research can feel uninvolved, unapplied, and too theoretical. Imagining a career in pure research, I would yearn for that direct contact that physicians experience with their patients and the ability to see the good you do unfold before your eyes. Having a career where I am working directly with people I can help is something that is very important to me.