Consolidate Perkins Loan?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Scrub MD

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I will be starting medical school in August and I graduated from undergrad in Dec. I am using my deferment until June and then consolidating all my ugrad debt.

Should I include my Perkins in that consolidation?

Even though I consolidate my sub with my unsub while out of school, when I start in Aug the interest will stop accruing right?

Will I have to make payments before I start in August?

Members don't see this ad.

Perkins loans won't accrue interest while in school. Consolidate or not it won't make much of a difference since the consolidation rate is right around the Perkins loan rate of 5%.

Interest will stop accruing on your subsidized loans only. The unsubsidized loans will accrue interest as they always have.

You have a 6 month lifetime grace period. You might lose that grace period depending on how you consolidate. If you do then you will have to make payments when you consolidate until you are in school and are granted an in-school deferment.

GPACfan said:
So I will be starting medical school in August and I graduated from undergrad in Dec. I am using my deferment until June and then consolidating all my ugrad debt.

Should I include my Perkins in that consolidation?

Even though I consolidate my sub with my unsub while out of school, when I start in Aug the interest will stop accruing right?

Will I have to make payments before I start in August?

Do not consolidate Perkins loans with Stafford loans! The interest rates will average, and you will owe much more than you did before.

Members don't see this ad :)