Consolidating for REPAYE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oral&maxillofacialsurgery

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a fourth year dental student starting a 6-year M.D. integrated oral and maxillofacial surgery residency in July - first 2 years in medical school then 4 years of omfs residency. As of now, I'm leaning towards academia over private practice but I cannot ignore the income gap with ~$500k, including accrued interest, in student loans by the time I finish residency so PSLF may be the only financial incentive to stay in academia.

The Health Profession Student Loan is a subsidized federal loan serviced by my dental school with a 5% interest rate but it's not a direct loan that qualifies for REPAYE unless I consolidate with my Direct Loans. However, HPSL allows deferment during residency and the interest is subsidized.

My original plan was to consolidate my HPSL after medical school and start REPAYE during 4 years of residency making qualifying payments towards PSLF. With the latest uncertainty of PSLF, I realize I cannot rely on the PSLF being available in 2029 but should I take the chance to consolidate early and forfeit HPSL subsidized interest during residency in order to make qualifying payments towards PSLF?

Health Professions Student Loan: $143,300
Direct Unsub/Grad Plus: $221,387.86 (principal) + $25,579.91 (accrued interest) = $246,837.00
Expected Medical School Tuition: $40,000/yr x 2 = $80,000 (Direct Loans)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Here's my recommendations:
  1. After DS graduation, immediately consolidate (www.studentloans.gov) your Direct Unsub & Grad Plus Loan and select REPAYE to mitigate interest accrual.
    • Do not include HSPL in this consolidation to retain subsidy.
  2. While in MS, take a separate, small DL out. For example, MS1 take out $40k, then MS2 take out $39k and $1k.