Cornell (IS) vs. WSU (OOS)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

conk15

Reaction score
Hello!

I’m currently struggling to decide between WSU and Cornell. I’m a NY resident and Cornell is actually in my hometown! I attended both schools’ open houses, but am obviously more familiar with Cornell/Ithaca. I feel like I have a better sense of the positives/negatives of Cornell from being so close, while WSU I’ve only seen through the open house.
I’d be grateful if current/former students have any insight on either school, or have had a similar decision to make.

I’m a 24 y/o non-traditional-ish student; I have a background in biomedical research. I’m interested in SA, still undecided whether GP or specialty.

Cornell, ~42k tuition a year
Pros:
- My hometown/collegetown. Friends, family, dog show community, etc all in the area
- I know I love Ithaca
- Opportunities for research and getting experience in specialties
- I think the block system/PBL would work well for me, though I’ve never had classes like that so kind of an unknown!
- Seems to have a lot of hands-on experience
- They already sent me financial information

Cons:
- Slightly higher tuition overall
- Higher cost of living
- I’ve heard that faculty can be difficult to approach and that students don’t feel supported during the clinical year

WSU, 63k tuition 1st year then 27k after establish residency
Pros:
- Faculty/students at open house were all so friendly and open, it seemed like they care about students’ well-being
- Curriculum style more what I’m used to
- Pass/fail
- Would be fun to live in a new area
- Lower cost of living
- Slightly cheaper tuition overall

Cons:
- Pullman is a smaller, more rural town
- So far from everyone I know, would need to build support network
- Moving costs/logistics
- Travel costs
- Less opportunities to do things with my dogs (mainly fun places to walk and shows)