counseling for MD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psychtorads

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 1st year psychiatry resident, struggling with the demands of
residency. What I really want to do is be a counselor.

How might I become licensed in mental health counseling, without
completing the 4-year psychiatry residency? I have graduated from
medical school, so I am an MD. If I were to complete my first year of
residency, what requirements would I need to fulfill so that I
could begin counseling? If I were to stop residency now, after 4
months, would the requirements differ? I am wondering if I need a
master's degree in counseling, or if my MD degree would suffice. Would
I also need to fulfill additional hours of counseling internship at a
university, or other teaching institution?

Any information you have would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

*The best place to ask this is in the Psychiatry Forum, so I'm going to move it over there.*

I know there are institutes that provide training for psychiatrists who want a better understanding of theory, therapy, etc. I am sure there are a number of different orientations available, though I've only heard of more traditional psychodynamic ones. I'd think if you are serious about expanding your training, this would probably be the best route to pursue, though you should definitely finish your current training.

-t

I'm honestly not sure, but I'd hazard a guess that your options are either complete your psychiatry residency and find a way to specialize in counseling either at residency or fellowship (not sure what options are available).