Couple of questions concerning some experience "stuff"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Led Zeppelin

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
First post here so I'd like to introduce myself :)

I'm currently an undergraduate student at Ohio State. Just transferred from a small University in Puerto Rico. Going to start my sophomore year over at OSU :)

Anyways, I've been having these concerns for the past couple of days over some vet experience and whatnot. I'm currently volunteering at a vet clinic that is near my house. I'm only able to volunteer Fridays and Saturdays because I "apparently" the clinic is full of volunteers. I tried contacting other vet clinics but they had too much time in their hands to offer me a volunteer spot.

So I see these applications were people have over 500-1000 hours of vet experience and 1000+ animal experience. I have over 60+ of vet experience, which consists of shadowing the vet, preparing vaccines, attending clients, etc. Now when it comes to animal experience, I'm not sure if the hours I had while attending my lab course for "Intro to Ani Sci" should count, even though we would go to the University's farm and perform various practices with pigs, cows, chickens, etc. Aside from that, I can't recall anymore experience I've had that involves animals (aside from pet ownership and "pet-sitting", if those are even valuable).

Now onto the questions. Will I be able to amass that amount of experience when applications come? It just seems unrealistic to actually get that amount of experience when the only time I have to actually work is in the summer.