CPR/First Aid Certification

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

westsidestoryz

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
I am planning to go to Africa this winter to help out some missionaries do humanitarian works, such as building homes, churches, cleaning up, and among other things.

I was planning to get a Wound Care certification but I cannot since I am still a student. So I was wondering if I can treat wounds over there in Africa with just the First Aid certification.

I know that if I put on my application I treated wounds while I was in Africa, it would do me more harm than good.
So if I were to be CPR/First Aid certified, would it be okay to treat wounds without the negativity feedback a from the committee?

I would like to just put ointments and wrap wounds around (not stitching or doing anything dramatic).

Thanks for the timely answers guys.

Members don't see this ad.

Which CPR/ First Aid cert are you planning on getting?

I was just planning to get the Red Cross Certification since they are all over the world.

Members don't see this ad :)
I would think that ADCOMs don't really care about the medical procedures you did over there. I think they are more interested in what you learned in regards to working with patients in a underserved community.

Oh they do care. Hearing about students doing things way beyond their scope of skills, knowledge, and safety and what the ethical implications for such a student if they were accepted to med school