Aug 4, 2017
I know there are a lot of threads on this already, but they seem to be old and I wanted to ask again. How many of you or people you know have matriculated into medical school with a criminal record?

4 years ago, I got a misdemeanor ticket for possession of marijuana pariphilia. I've been working as an RN for about 3 years now and am starting prerequisites for medical school. Is this just going to end up being a waste of time?

When it comes time to explain, I'm also not sure of how much detail to go into. Pretty much, I was in a pretty bad car accident that resulted in multiple fractures. I was offered narcotic pain medication, but already knew of he opioid epidemic and asked about medical marijuana for pain instead. I used it for about 3 weeks before not needing it anymore. I let my prescibtion go without getting it renewed, but never threw out my pipe. When I was moving (actually across the country for nursing school) I got pulled over and a dog alerted to it. If I had my prescription still, they would of let me on my way, but since it had expired about a month before, they gave me the ticket.

Last edited:

CyrilFiggis

5+ Year Member
Nov 4, 2014
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
Each issue is case by case. With issues like weed esp., certain states and programs can have different opinions. I would contact any schools you may be interested and ask to speak with someone about it.

Goro

SDN Gold Donor
10+ Year Member
Jun 11, 2010
Somewhere west of St. Louis
Status (Visible)
  1. Non-Student
I know there are a lot of threads on this already, but they seem to be old and I wanted to ask again. How many of you or people you know have matriculated into medical school with a criminal record?

4 years ago, I got a misdemeanor ticket for possession of marijuana pariphilia. I've been working as an RN for about 3 years now and am starting prerequisites for medical school. Is this just going to end up being a waste of time?