critical care/procedure texts

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xjohns1

SDN Angel
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi guys,

i'm a fourth-year med student going into anesthesia. i'm going to be doing an icu month as a student and have an interest in evenutally possibly doing a fellowship. anyway, first things first. i'm wondering if you have any suggestions for a good introductory critical care text that i could use as a student and possibly use during residency. i realize having a dedicated text is probably not entirely necessary, but i'm a textbook learner and would appreciate any suggestions. i'd also really like suggestions for a procedures text. i know there's one for emergency medicine procedures, but i'm wondering if there's anything more dedicated toward anesthesia/critical care procedures. thank you in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

I did a surgical internship, so the learning curve for bedside procedures was very steep. Gained priveleges for all of them within first two weeks of training. The book I liked the most for procedures was Manual of Common Bedside Procedures by Johns Hopkins. For critical care, I read The ICU Book by Marino when I was in med school and internship; now I read mostly a large Critical Care Medicine book, sorry can't remember the name.

I'm a 4th year medical student who's done 2 ICU rotations so far, and I was about to recommend the exact same 2 books Denrock mentioned. Marino is very accessible at the medical student level and Chen (the lead author of the Hopkins procedure guide) is also clear and easy to understand.

Denrock, I may be naive, but tell me what you mean by "gain[ing] priveliges in the first two weeks."

Members don't see this ad :)
cchoukal said:
Denrock, I may be naive, but tell me what you mean by "gain[ing] priveliges in the first two weeks."