crossing to the dark side

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gyrase

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a PGY-2 resident in surgery, and am strongly considering switching to anesthesia. My anesthesia colleagues are generally happy and emphasis is placed on education, whereas my experience has been the polar opposite. After my rotation in the SICU under anesthesia attendings and after speaking with several residents and staff, I think that anesthesia is where I need to be.

Have any of you guys made similar jumps? How have surgery converts worked in you programs? Any tips in making the switch (i.e how to change without burning bridges, etc.).

Members don't see this ad.

gyrase said:
I am currently a PGY-2 resident in surgery, and am strongly considering switching to anesthesia. My anesthesia colleagues are generally happy and emphasis is placed on education, whereas my experience has been the polar opposite. After my rotation in the SICU under anesthesia attendings and after speaking with several residents and staff, I think that anesthesia is where I need to be.

Have any of you guys made similar jumps? How have surgery converts worked in you programs? Any tips in making the switch (i.e how to change without burning bridges, etc.).

At UVa, the medical director of the OR finished his surgical residency before he switched....that is one way of not burning bridges.

gyrase said:
Any tips in making the switch (i.e how to change without burning bridges, etc.).