crossing to the dark side

Discussion in 'Anesthesiology' started by gyrase, Nov 24, 2005.

1. gyrase

gyrase New Member

Resident [Any Field]
    I am currently a PGY-2 resident in surgery, and am strongly considering switching to anesthesia. My anesthesia colleagues are generally happy and emphasis is placed on education, whereas my experience has been the polar opposite. After my rotation in the SICU under anesthesia attendings and after speaking with several residents and staff, I think that anesthesia is where I need to be.

Have any of you guys made similar jumps? How have surgery converts worked in you programs? Any tips in making the switch (i.e how to change without burning bridges, etc.).

2. militarymd

militarymd SDN Angel
    10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    At UVa, the medical director of the OR finished his surgical residency before he switched....that is one way of not burning bridges.

3. davvid2700

davvid2700 Membership Revoked
    Removed

Just explain to your program director about how your feeling. Tell him honestly that you are not interested in surgery any more. WHy would you burn bridges? Thats allowed. You can become disinterested and it shouldnt have any reflection on him. And even if it does burn bridges, what can he possibly do to harm you if you are not even interested in surgery anymore. Nothing. There is absolutely no reason to finish out your surgical residency if you are not interested in becoming a surgeon.

4. Idiopathic

Idiopathic Newly Minted
    Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    You are pretty much going to have to burn bridges on this deal, no way around it. But, since you dont want to be a surgeon, why are you concerned? Just dont ever let your Surgery PD be in a position where you need him to pay your salary :laugh:

5. pazzer2

pazzer2 Member
    10+ Year Member