Current SMP student. Should I apply to more places?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TarpolianDynamite

C/O 2023
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

So I am a current SMP student and in our program we are guaranteed an interview in the spring if we meet a minimum GPA. Pretty standard stuff, but recently we were told that we need to have an AACOMAS application filled out and submitted soon. My stats from under-grad are pretty horrible:

cGPA: 3.03
sGPA:3.21
a few W's and an F
MCAT 1st attempt: 492
MCAT 2nd attempt: 500
>2500 clinical hours (paid Medical Assistant)
>300 shadowing

No great reason why my grades are so low I just had trouble adjusting to a big college coming from a small town and after losing my scholarship I had to work a lot (>40 hr/week) to pay for school. So, my question is:

Should I apply to more places now that I am enrolled in this SMP and my grad GPA is going up and if so which ones?
Also, should I be doing anything now to really seal the deal with my one guaranteed interview?

Thank you for your input!

Members don't see this ad.

I'd apply to more DO schools....the fresh ones (ACOM, ARCOM, ICOM, etc).

Not worth keeping all your melons in one basket imo.

Reactions: 1 users
You need to work hard in order to get into med school. If your SMP grades go low the doors for med school will be shut down for you. Get a loan instead of working >40 hours. SMP is very fast pace and you are not in undergrad school anymore. SMP courses are pretty close to 1st year of med school. Been thru this SMP program so that's why giving you advice.
All the best!

Members don't see this ad :)