Current undergrad looking for advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ibar300

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am new to SDN and am looking for some advice. I am currently a rising junior at a top 15 university studying Industrial Engineering/Operations Research and Computer Science and have been thinking about a switch to medicine. I feel deeply compelled to do work in which I can positively affect people’s lives every day and believe that medicine is the best way to do this.
My cumulative GPA is about 3.4 and my science GPA is about 3.1 (brought down by a C- in second quarter general chemistry). In terms of premed classes, I have taken 2/3 quarters of general chemistry and a full year of physics, but not organic chemistry or biology.
My inclination is to finish my engineering degrees and then apply for a post-bacc pre-med program to finish the remaining science prerequisites. I have already contacted several post back programs and they have all said that I will be eligible for admission despite having taken a few of the science pre-reqs (which were required for my major), If I try to fit in the science pre-reqs as an undergrad, I will probably take an extra quarter(s) or year to finish and I will probably risk my current academic plans (which allow for little to no flexibility), and I am not completely set on medicine. I’d like to get some volunteer experience and talk with current doctors to help determine if medicine is right for me.
Is spending time trying to determine if medicine is right for me, then doing a post back directly after undergrad, a good idea? If yes, what are my chances to get into a strong post back program, and how will I have to improve my credentials (overall GPA, science GPA, MCAT, etc.) to get into medical school?
Has anybody followed a similar path and can give advice?
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,