da vinci surgery

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

captain bhangra

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
just curious, how is the da vinci robot for surgeries for those of you that have used it? good bad useful not useful?
seems interesting

thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I'd ask the urologists. They are the ones who use it the most.

There are some really good videos on OR live for the da vinci robot.

Members don't see this ad :)
it's useful for working in a deep hole like the pelvis where exposure can be difficult and the room to work is tight

humble ms3 here so please keep in mind i have no personal experience, but being a robot jockey doesn't seem all that cool to me. Granted the thing is very cool and I do enjoy toys, but I don't like competing with the machine.

can anyone out there who has used it offer some experiences? Is it ever going to be mainstream, as in 25-50% of procedures?

Robot technology helps power new kidney surgery

December 12, 2008

S. Duke Herrell, M.D., right, used a new form of robotic laparoscopic kidney surgery to operate on Bannar Rawlings, left. (photo by Susan Urmy)
by Dagny Stuart
Bannar Rawlings is forever grateful to the Vanderbilt radiologist who saw something suspicious on her kidney.

Rawlings was undergoing an MRI for a back operation when the radiologist spotted a cancerous lesion. The 30-year-old assistant to the chair of Neurosurgery believes she is equally lucky to be at a medical center that offered her a new form of robotic laparoscopic surgery.

“After having the back surgeries I wanted my downtime to be as short as possible, and I wanted the pain to be minimal,” Rawlings said.