DAT Breakdown (23)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

onliko

Reaction score
Reading breakdowns helped me a lot when studying and so I knew I wanted to do the same after my exam to hopefully help someone.

Just for a little background, I consistently studied for around 3 months and I used mainly two resources; Booster and Chads prep (along with the booster anki decks).

Here is how I studied for each section:

Biology (23):
I was a biology major in undergrad and so I went into this section thinking it wouldn’t be that bad since I really loved my major and retained a lot of what I learned during college. I wasn’t necessarily wrong but I did underestimate the sheer amount of time getting through all the content would take. I used Feralis notes on booster and they were absolutely amazing but as many of you know, they are pretty long. I went through all of the chapters and took notes on each and kept repeating the process of just rereading. I think doing this was conducive to my learning but I realized that whenever I would move onto a different section of biology, I would forget bits and pieces of the previous chapter. What I did to combat this that really helped was using the high yield notes on booster for each chapter and reviewing those for previous chapters while learning new content. Doing this helped me not forget the main pieces of information from chapters I wasn’t directly studying at the moment. I didn’t implement this strategy until later on but it helped me a lot once I did. As I said, I used Feralis notes and I think it was absolutely worth reading because it gave me a very comprehensive understanding of all the content but I will say to monitor your time and make sure you aren’t unevenly spreading your study time with each of the sections.