DAT Breakdown (24 AA)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mattrmort

Reaction score
Screenshot 2023-06-29 at 10.42.33 AM.png
Screenshot 2023-06-29 at 10.50.28 AM.png

Hey guys! When I was studying, seeing breakdowns helped motivate me and helped me know how to study a little so I hope this is helpful. Reach out if you have any questions I’m happy to help.

FOR REFERENCE:
-I studied for 8 weeks using DAT Booster. From what I’ve seen, Bootcamp is also an amazing resource and is essentially the same thing. I think it’s more important to not get spread thin by doing two separate programs unless you have months and months. I started following the schedule, but ended up changing it to spend more time on sections I was weak on, like GC and Bio, and less on Ochem and math since I already had a good background in those.

-I am a Spanish major-- 3.6 cgpa, 3.2 sgpa

OFFICIAL SCORE BREAKDOWN:
AA: 24
TS: 22
PAT: 25

On practice tests I was scoring
AA:19-21
TS: 20-21
PAT: 20-24

SECTIONS BREAKDOWN:

PAT: Practice, practice, practice!!! The techniques in Booster are all I used, but PAT is a section that is a skill that you can develop. I tried to do 15 of each type of question each day, and just got better over time. Also, make sure in the last 2 weeks you start taking full tests to get a feel for the timing and make an overall strategy. I found TFE and Hole Punching to be the hardest sections for me, so I would start and skip right to #30(angle ranking) and go through 90 and leave my hardest sections for last. Every point is weighed the same, so get all the ones easiest for you first. On the real test, I felt the TFE was easier than on Booster, but everything else was very similar. I would also draw out the grids for HP and t charts for CC on the sheet during the last 5 minutes of science which saved a couple minutes.(see picture) Bonus: draw a couple extras just in case you mess up on one