DAT Breakdown: 28AA / 30TS / 24PAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fisherjpham

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! DAT breakdowns were a huge influence on my studying and keeping me motivated, so I wanted to post my own on here.
PAT: 24 | QR: 30 | RC: 23 | BIO: 30 | GC: 30 | OC: 29 | TS: 30 | AA: 28
I'll give my study strategy, then resource breakdown, then how things went on test day.

Study Strategy:
Overall, I studied for about 3 1/2 months, ranging from 3-12 hours per day. I'd say most days I got at least 4-5 hours in. Right after my finals (mid-May), I took the free Kaplan test on their site for diagnostic purposes. A diagnostic test is where you take a test (usually a free one online) to figure out right off the bat where you need to focus your studying. I got a 21AA, with a 15 Bio and 15 PAT, so I knew that's where I needed to work.
From mid-May to beginning of June, over ~2.5 weeks, I read Bio Academy from Bootcamp's website. I did at least 1 or 2 chapters per day, plus some review. This is where I first tried Anki, and I did NOT like it. To solidify information, I made summary sheets, and started Bio Bites once my Bootcamp subscription started. Bio Bites was what really solidified the information on my first run through. If I could go back, I'd ditch doing handwritten notes and start doing Anki consistently after doing all of the Bio Bites once.