DAT Breakdown - 8/1/2016 - 22TS, 21AA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DaddioDan

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I've been a lurker for a while and I'm also a non-traditional applicant. I haven't taken gen chem & gen bio since 2007 or orgo since 2009. I was a bio major in undergrad and received my Master's in 2013 in public health (concentration in biomedical sciences) in 2013, so it's been a while since I've taken any classes. This whole process was a big undertaking for me and I needed to re-learn everything from gen chem and orgo, but I figured with all the input from the SDN community and how they raved about the available materials I should be able to get it done. Here's a breakdown of my scores:

BIO - 23
GC - 19
OC - 24
PAT - 21
RC - 21
QR - 19
TS - 22
AA - 21

Bio: Very few regurgitating facts questions and more about applying what you know. The bio section was random, I think I was lucky since I didn't get any questions about plants and few detailed questions about taxonomy. Know the first few chapters of Cliff's like the back of your hand. I think a majority of my bio section was mostly knowing everything up to heredity. For bio I used Cliff's 3rd (pdf and book) supplemented with Ferrali's (and associated flashcards through the Anki app), Course Saver bio quizzes, DAT Bootcamp, and Crash Course. The book was full of typos and missing reactions and graphics. How did this get the okay to be published? (version was 2009). The week before the test I reread the Cliff's and watched all of Crash Course after each chapter. Crash Course definitely answered one of my questions that I may not have known if I didn't watch the series. Thanks Hank!