DAT Breakdown 8/23/14 25AA 27TS 24PAT (w/ practice scores)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

uppahand123

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, so I just finished my DAT yesterday afternoon. Super excited to be done! This is actually my first post on SDN, but I have read many breakdowns;). I thought I would post a breakdown of my study experience. I hope it helps someone out there! I wanted to make sure to post all my practice scores. I would frequently venture onto SDN to compare practice scores with previous breakdowns that I admired, I felt that doing so pushed me throughout my 3 month prep! I am a post bacc student taking the necessary pre-reqs for dental school. I was an athlete undergrad and did not make serious steps towards a career path until late junior year, but I am so happy to have found dentistry!

Here are my scores from yesterday (8/23/14):

Bio:24
GC: 29 :soexcited:
OC: 29 :soexcited:
RC: 21
QR:24
PAT:24

TS:27 :soexcited:
AA: 25

Extremely happy with these scores after such a long and grueling 3 months, I truly believe pushing yourself is the key to this test; it can be conquered through hard work. I started studying 3 months ago at the beginning of the summer. 4hrs/day for the first month, then I averaged anywhere from 6-9 hours for the final 2 months (400+ hrs total). I only had a couple days off in the prep (one for my birthday :)). I told myself that I was willing to make the necessary sacrifices for one summer (i.e. become a human hermit crab) to dominate this test and never look back! The materials I used were:

Ferralis' Bio Notes (10/10)

Honestly after reading cliffs AP bio, all I really used was ferralis' notes and the internet (youtube, wikipedia, khan). The level of detail in his notes are what you need to score well, I certainly did not know everything in ferralis.

DAT Destroyer (9/10)