Dat breakdown!! 9/18/13

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pinkpolkadots

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN community!

I finally took my DAT on 9/18/13! I'm super grateful for these forums because they have helped me soo much!! I found resources that I would have never heard about otherwise and whenever I got down/discouraged, I would look through people's amazingly high breakdowns to motivate myself.

SCORES!
PAT - 22 (93.4)
QR - 24 (99.0)
RC - 22 (84.4)
Bio - 24 (98.9)
GC - 22 (91.8)
OC - 22 (90.4)
TS - 23 (97.8)
AA - 23 (98.7)

Overview: I studied for about 11 weeks, but definitely think it could have been condensed..a LOT. I started out by sticking to the sample study schedule by dentalworks. It was good to setup a routine and pace myself to study, BUT for me it also gave me an excuse to slack off a bit. I was finishing the allotted studying by studying maybe 5 hours/day...leaving a LOT of time for hanging out with friends and chilling. I think studying for the DAT could definitely be doable maybe half the time with solid, focused ONLY studying.

Resources:
KBB for oc, gc, bio (6/10) - mehh...
Chad's videos for gc, little bit for oc (10/10) - awesome!!! use the 1.5x speed if you have a strong science background -> efficient review
DAT Destroyer for gc, oc, bio (10/10) - lots of hard practice problems -> makes actual test seem easier
Math Destroyer (9/10) - same as for dat destroyer
Crackdatpat (8/10) - helpful practice, lots of practice problems
DAT Bootcamp (10/10) - lots of practice problems, all sections were very similar to actual (except math was way harder). recommend doing at least a couple of practice tests to get the timing down and put yourself in a timed testing environment.
Cliff's AP bio (7/10) - fill in the details lost in ferrali's
Ferrali's bio notes (10/10) - condensed, quicker to go through

PAT: (crackdat pat, bootcamp)