DAT Breakdown for us Regular People

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anxious_achiever

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just took the DAT for the first time. Here's a little bit of a background:

3.82 cGPA 3.78 sGPA
research assistant
handful of shadowing and volunteer work
college athlete for 2 years
academic and athletic awards

Now for the DAT....

Bootcamp averages:
BIO/GC/OC/PAT/QR/RC
20/ 19/ 19/ 19/ 17/ 20

2007 ADA DAT (taken 1 month out)
BIO/GC/OC/PAT/QR/RC/TS/AA
21/ 19/ 21/ 19/ 14/ X/ 21/ X

2009 ADA DAT (taken 10 days out)
21/ 19/ 20/ 22/ 17/ 20/ 20/ 19

Real DAT
20/ 18/ 22/ 21/ 19/ 20/ 20/ 20

I studied for a little under 3 months. The time varied from day to day, but it was typical to spend ~5 hours per day studying. I used:
Kaplan blue book (3/10)- Don't waste your time with this. It makes a better door stop than a review book. Waste. Of. Money.
DAT Bootcamp (10/10)- Such a great source, truly worth your money. It's the only source you need for the PAT. It also gives you a good background for the QR and the new quantitative comparisons.
DAT Destroyer (10/10)- Another great source that covers a wide variety of topics. Don't let it destroy your confidence levels. It's meant to be hard so that you can be successful on the real test. Take it with a grain of salt. Memorize the organic roadmaps!
Chad's videos (8/10)- I used the free versions because I'm a broke college student. It served its purpose of reviewing the organic and gen chem topics. Chad explains things in a simple yet funny manner.
Feralis Bio notes (8/10)- I just skimmed over my weak areas. Very detailed notes.