1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice
  4. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

DAT Breakdown - Nontraditional Perspective 2015

Discussion in 'DAT Discussions' started by MrSnuggles, Aug 7, 2015.

1. MrSnuggles

5+ Year Member

So SDN helped me a lot when I was preparing for my DAT so I figured I'd give my thoughts on the test and offer some advice on prep.

First, my scores:
    [​IMG]

A bit about me: I'm a nontraditional, I have an undergraduate degree in computational bio and a master's in evolutionary bio. Since then I've taught basic biology and A&P at the community college level. It's been about 10 years since I've taken organic chem/gen chem so my advice may not apply to most people.

Time allotted: I gave myself 3 months. You may need much less if you've taken classes more recently.

Strategy:

First Three Weeks: Build Knowledge Base

I spent the first 3 weeks watching Chad's videos. I spent about 5 hours a day watching a video, taking notes, and then taking the quiz. This was super helpful as I had completely forgotten most of organic chemistry and general chemistry. Though not completely comprehensive, his videos give a good base of knowledge for the DAT and do not cover too much extraneous material.