DAT breakdown

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

predentalstudent12

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I have been reading breakdowns religiously for the last couple of months while I studied for my DAT and found them incredibly helpful, so I wanted to share one as well.
For some background: I am a junior and I just completed Ochem 2 and Bio 2 spring semester so a lot of the content from these sections was fresh on my mind. I dedicated my whole summer (June 1st to August 15th - my test date) to studying for the exam and spend around 6-8 hours every day. I should’ve taken more breaks, but I get anxious about testing, so I studied on weekends too. This is just what worked for me, but I don’t think that much time is necessary to do good on the exam.
Materials Used:
1) DAT booster: this was my main source when it came to studying for the DAT, and I found the practice exams to be extremely representative of the real exam. I would highly recommend Booster to anyone starting their studying. DO ALL THE EXAMS because nothing will prepare you better.
2) Anki: this may not be for everyone, but anki was my saving grace. I entered everything from the Feralis Booster bio notes into a deck and added cards for every question I got wrong on the practice exams which helped me continuously learn the topics I was weak in. I also made a genchem and ochem deck later in my studying (around month 2 when I started practice tests) and added questions I was getting wrong on practice exams.
3) DAT Destroyer/Math Destroyer: the destroyer books had questions that were way harder than what the actual DAT had but it was a great way to expose myself to some of the harder concepts + practice questions always help. However, I’d say math destroyer was very representative of the QR on the real exam, and the math problems really helped me learn the different types of questions that could show up.
On the exam day: