DAT done 06/10/2012

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BrutalViking

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody! I've been waiting for this day to post my score/breakdown on here. Thanks to everyone who answered my questions and helped me get through this. This is my first time taking the DAT and the last (I hope ^_^)
Scores as follows:
PAT: 20
QR: 19
RC: 18
Bio: 19
Chem: 19
Orgo: 21
TS: 19
AA: 19

Although I'm not exceptionally happy about my score, I am glad enough that I scored in the 19-range and all my scores were consistent.

Time spent: about a month

Material Used:
Kaplan course, Kaplan Blue Book and Kaplan's online practice and tests
CDP
TopScore (3 test version)
Chad's videos (1 month sub)

How I studied and how it compares to the real thing:
*PAT: Most of Kaplan's material here are too easy and thus I bought and used CDP which provided more challenging questions. One thing to mention, in the kaplan course, we were taught to use line counting method on TFE which was BS!!! I swear I was cursing Kaplan during my PAT. I have heard that line counting doesn't work on the real test but I was hoping it'll help me eliminate an answer choice or two (like I've done in CDP) but guess what? I wasn't able to eliminate a single answer choice in the TFE section. Not a single one.
*QR: I really didn't study much for this section aside from the practice tests I used. Not many geometry questions came up on the real thing. Mostly algebra (or so I remember). I learned to use the calculator during the test which helped a lot. DAT calculator is not bad (just a bit laggy sometimes)