DAT Done 7/14/2011! (Plus Breakdown)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

marii0o

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been stalking this forum since for ideas and tips since I started studying for the DAT a month and a half ago, I can't believe I'm finally posting my scores! Honestly, I didn't think the test was that bad. I imagined it would be a lot harder. My advice, prepare. If you've done that, then relax!

I started really studying near the beginning of June, I had initially planned to take the test back in December with more than enough time for a retake, but I decided I wanted to take this test once, knock it out of the park, and never look back, haha. I'm really glad that I did, I postponed my test once at the beginning of July because I didn't quite have the timing down. BEST DECISION EVER! I finished each section except for QR with at least 15 minutes on the clock. If you're stressing, don't feel like you don't have this option! It really was a life saver to have that extra week and a half to just work on getting everything together. The night before my test I was relaxed and ready, much better than I would've been had I taken it in June.

I was really worried initially when I started studying because I had no intention on blowing $500 for materials. So... I didn't have a lot of the big stuff people talk about using (Destroyer, TOPSCORE, etc.). I also didn't study crazy amounts of hours, I managed 5-6 most days out of the week, with enough time in between to keep me sane.

I used:
- Kaplan Blue Book
- Cliffs AP Bio
- CRACK DAT PAT/READING/MATH
- Chad's Videos
- My O.Chem and Bio Text book
- Random sample DAT questions/tests I found on the internet.

My Scores:
QR: 21 (96.4%)
RC: 28 (99.7%)
Bio: 19 (76.6%) <--kick me in the face.
GC: 23 (95.4%)
OC: 24 (95.7%)
TS: 21 (91.6%)
AA: 23 (98.7%)
PAT: 22 (93.4%)

overall GPA: 3.62, science GPA: 3.51, non science GPA: 3.82

Breakdown:

QR: