DAT done!! 7/20 Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bballa775

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
First I have to thank everyone on sdn who posted previous breakdowns, this helped tremendously!

PAT 21 (87.9%)
QR 19 (91.2%)
RC 22 (84.4%)
Bio 22 (95.9%)
GC 24 (97.7%)
OC 23 (94.4%)
TS 23 (97.8%)
AA 22 (97.0%)

I studied for 10 weeks, 8-10 hrs a day with every Saturday off for work.

Basically I used Dentalworks' schedule the first 4-5 weeks, but modified it. The rest of the time I made my own schedule to cram in all the practice problems.

Ok so here is the breakdown of how the DAT went for me:

Biology: Cliffs Ap, KBB, class text books, DESTROYER
I have always been pretty strong in bio and have a good undergrad background. Basically I found this test to be as random as everyone has been saying. With that said, it is possible to do well if you put in the time. Use Cliffs to refresh all the general material you forgot over the years and then Destroyer & DATQV for the random info Cliffs doesn't have. Every single one of my questions on the DAT could be found in the Bio Destroyer somewhere. I think 3 were word for word. It was intensely frustrating to be sitting in that chair and not remembering a fact that romano had said because I didn't think it would be important. EVERYTHING is fair game in the destroyer

GC: Chads vids, text book, Destroyer
Really chads videos are all you need here and the destroyer is excellent practice. If you don't have any trouble with either of these sources you are ready for the test. The DAT was very simple, I think I had about 3 calculations and the rest were either set up or concepts. I had 2 random lab technique questions, but they werent impossible.

OC: Destroyer, text book