Deadline questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Trashino

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
The admission process has been so much longer than I thought it would be! In the end, I have an acceptance at a PhD program, but would like to wait to hear from the waitlist at an MSTP. Since the deadline to decide on PhD admissions is April 15, while waitlists typically move on May 15, I am in a bit of a bind. Add to this that I just interviewed at a medical school that I really liked (they give a lot of leeway for research, and have a partially funded MD/PhD pathway), and I have even more time to wait. I've asked the MSTP about my position on the waitlist, and have yet to receive a reply.

I will probably ask for an extension from the PhD program, hopefully to around May 15.
My question: if I cannot get an extension, how binding is the April 15 PhD deadline? Do I just lose my deposit after an April 15 commitment, or am I obligated to attend the school?

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

The system is set up so that UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES will an applicant be forced to withdraw from waitlists. You are absolutely free to decline an offer of acceptance in favor of a school that took you off the waitlist...you only risk losing your deposit. Even if you write a letter of intent to the PhD program (some may ask you to), the letter becomes null and void if you are removed from a waitlist for an MSTP.

This information is all available in the "traffic rules" section of the AAMC website. These rules were designed to provide applicants with the maximum amount of freedom to choose their program while making it easier for admissions departments to manage their class lists. Don't worry!