Deciding on MD/PhD vs PhD; worried about clinical boredom

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anandamide

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a long-time lurker that was struck by a comment by Mercaptovizadeh in another thread. I didn't want to high-jack the original thread, so I made a new one.

Link to original thread: http://forums.studentdoctor.net/threads/phd-vs-md-phd.1051658/

I think if you had asked me this question before the MD-PhD, during MS1,2 or the PhD, I would definitely say "do the MD-PhD," but now that I'm in 4th year of medical school and applying to residency, I would say, just do the PhD alone. I find clinical medicine unfulfilling, tedious, and frankly often boring. And I think residency is going to be a frightful agony.

Oh my gosh. Thank you. Seriously, THANK YOU. I have been waiting for someone to say this. I've been going back and forth on the MD/PhD vs PhD question for a while now, mostly because I'm scared I'll end up feeling like this. But I thought I was crazy. How could anyone find clinical medicine dull?

As a research tech, I consent patients, collect their tissue and then run experiments with it back in the lab. I love taking my experiments from the bedside to the bench and back again. Balancing clinical consenting with translational research can be a struggle time-wise, but it's the best kind of struggle. I work around a number of physician scientists (MD's and MD/PhD's), and all of them think I'd be a great fit for MSTP programs. I have the stats. I love to learn, and I absorb new clinical information like a sponge. But then I get bored. Seeing the same set of diseases again and again in different patients is just OK. I don't hate it. In fact, I enjoy meeting new patients and getting to know them. I just don't love clinical work as much as I love research and teaching.