1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Dental School Questions

Discussion in 'Dental' started by Rastaman190e, Apr 20, 2004.

1. Rastaman190e

Rastaman190e New Member

Hello all:

Newbie here. I have been lurking in the dark for some time reading posts to get a sense of the general level of thought and the extent of sharing between members that occurs here. it is all good and is a nice thing to see (?)/read?

I am a former environementalist/network engineer/wanna-be-professional soccer player who is making the switch to dentistry -time to grow up and get a real job, you might say :) .

As I shadow my dentist and explore the many dental programs and their respective focus, I find that I am having a hard time formulating questions that go beyond the general questions. I already know that their mean gpa is and how much it is going to cost me to go to dental school but I know there is so much more to each dental program than the statistics they throw at you.

What I want to ask are the probing questions that get to the true culture of a school's environment and how happy their students are etc, etc. So the impetus behind this long intro is to ask you to think about some questions whose answers to, knowing what you know now, would have helped you greatly in figuring out if a particular program is right for you or if the school is equipped to help you be the best dentist you want to be.

i know this might be a whole bit to ask for and most of you will have to stop scanning for a bit but please take the time to respond. I will appreciate it greatly.

Thanks.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Westside22

Westside22 Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

what a loaded question, I can write a book...

but I do like questions like these... so let's see...