Dental school right choice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

swimfan123

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is dental school really that challenging? I'm a pre-dental/pre-pharm student and I'm looking at the pros and cons of each, and I keep hearing people say that dental school is ridiculously hard. What do you all think?

Members don't see this ad.

Yes. That is why they look at your college grades. If you can excel in college, then you can succeed in dental school. And as long as you enjoy working with your hands. No, really, you need to enjoy working with your hands. Dentists do it every hour, every day.

Thats not to say Pharm is not not tough. They still have to study a ton of information, and use ochem and biochem a lot more than we do. That is a ton of memorization.

dentistry is your career...
Almost everytime is surgery...
not just prescription...that would be boring as hell...
unless for pharm u do research

Members don't see this ad :)
Is dental school really that challenging? I'm a pre-dental/pre-pharm student and I'm looking at the pros and cons of each, and I keep hearing people say that dental school is ridiculously hard. What do you all think?

if you are a hellava time manager, dental school becomes very doable. dental school, like medical school, is conceptually unchallenging. nothing is truely cerebral; it's the volume of material you have to cover that makes it a nightmare and a time management crisis.