Dental Student Dating a Medical School Student??

organichemistry

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been with my girlfriend for 2 years and currently live 2 hours from where she lives.

She is starting undergrad at her hometown while I will be starting dental school in 2007 at the same school.

Her plan is to go to medical school.

I've got a few questions which specifically apply to couples in professional schools. And yes, I realize this is a long, long way away... but we are deeply in love, have discussed marriage, family, etc

Sometimes I think it won't put too much strain on the relationship because as a dental student I will understand the studying she will have to go through as a medical student... and vice-versa. Could it be favorable?

Would the debt be too great. We could conceivably be staring at $300,000-$400,000 in debt. Could we have trouble getting loans to even make such an adventure? I feel confident we could (eventually) pay it off because by the time she was a 3rd or 4th year resident (making about $50k), I would probably be at the 100,000 level or higher. Still, could this be too much debt?

Any other advice from people in similar situations is GREATLY APPRECIATED!

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think it would be too strenuous for both of you to be in med/dental school. The two of you could support each other. I think a lot depends on your relationship.

As for the money, you should have NO problem getting loans. Come on...a dentist and a medical doctor, anyone who gives out loans knows that the two of you will be making a lot of money and that you should have no problems paying it back.

They are usually generous to dentist and doctors because they know you will make money.

I'm pre-dental too so---->Good luck!