Depressed. Should I give up?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

diiy1234

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a non-traditional student. I'm currently pursuing a second bachelor's degree, since I earned my first bachelor's degree in a foreign country. So far, I have uGPA 4.0 and sGPA 4.0. The US college let me transfer many credits, so I am 1 or 2 semesters away from getting my second bachelor's degree. I registered to take the MCAT in Jan, 2015. I have solid ECs (clinical volunteering, non-clinical community service, research, leadership, etc.)
Recently, I started to feel depressed and unmotivated, partially due to the fact that my husband move to another state far away to attend medical school (east coast to west coast). Also, the prerequisites that I am taking right now are courses that I got A's before in my home country. I cannot stop blaming myself if I get a grade that is lower than 100 for any single exam or quiz. I know it is unreasonable to want a 100 in every single quiz, but I cannot stop it.
I never experienced depression before. Feeling depressed only taking the prerequisites and preparing for the MCAT scares me. I know that medical school has a much rigorous curriculum. I am frightened by the idea of not having any free time and having to study almost 24/7. Also, the idea that I have to live far away from my husband for many years (medical school + residency) is frightening.
Should I give up on medical school? Should I finish my second bachelor's degree or should I quit and move with my husband? I really want to be a physician though, but I am not sure how much I am willing to sacrifice for it.

Members don't see this ad.