Dermatology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

giznut12

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a third year medical student going into dermatology. I have a few questions about the application process. I was planning on applying to both allopathic and osteopathic programs. I understand that unlike most specialities the osteopathic derm programs are not linked and require you to apply during your internship year. And the allopathic match for derm will take place during my fourth year. My question is...Is it even possible for me to apply to both since the osteopathic match (for internship) is earlier than the allopathic match? Will I be automatically withdrawn from the allopathic match if I match at an osteopathic intership? I am confused. If you can provide me with any advice on this issue, it will be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

giznut12 said:
I am a third year medical student going into dermatology. I have a few questions about the application process. I was planning on applying to both allopathic and osteopathic programs. I understand that unlike most specialities the osteopathic derm programs are not linked and require you to apply during your internship year. And the allopathic match for derm will take place during my fourth year. My question is...Is it even possible for me to apply to both since the osteopathic match (for internship) is earlier than the allopathic match? Will I be automatically withdrawn from the allopathic match if I match at an osteopathic intership? I am confused. If you can provide me with any advice on this issue, it will be greatly appreciated.