Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Desperately Seeking Med School!!!

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by uclamireh, Mar 6, 2007.

1. uclamireh

uclamireh In relentless pursuit...

I am stuck! After so many rejection letters I am beginning to rethink my future as a physician. I have been rejected from 15 schools; and waiting for 3 three more responses - NYMC, Albany and Johns Hopkins. At this point I have no idea what to do next. Should I write pre-interview letters? Should I apply to overseas schools?

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, if you can offer any advice after reading my stats, I would greatly appreciate it!!!

Basically I am 31 M.E. woman born in NYC and living in Cali. I have a B.S. from UCLA in Psychobio, but my GPA stinks big time (2.8 Sci and 3.11 in my major). After that I taught high school bio for 2 years and then went to Columbia to get an MPH (gpa 3.5). I worked in the public health field under grants from the EPA and CDC, working with adolescents, mothers and the uninsured. I also worked in a GP's office to get some clinical experience. My first MCAT was a 26, my second was a 32. I have no letters of rec from undergrad and 3 from grad. Now I am a health/life/academic advisor for adolescents.

I am stressed, confused and in need of a serious drink!

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. spicedmanna

Moderator Emeritus

Attending Physician