Jul 24, 2009
Status
Pre-Dental
Hello, everyone!
This is my first time posting here:)
It's been so long since I took my general chemistry, and I cannot remember much.
While I was doing Destroyer, I had several questions that I cannot understand. So please please help me~

A solution of NaOH and HF are titrated to the endpoint of a titration. The final solution will contain?

(a) Na+ and F-
(b) H2O, H+, OH-, HF, Na+, and F-
(c) H2O, F-, and Na+
(d) Na+ and F-, NaOH
(e) NaOH and HF in a 1:1 mole ratio

Also in #203, it says Sr++ is smaller than S-- since it forms a positive ion.
I understand that if an element is a positive ion, it will have smaller radius, but what I don't understand is... when we look at periodic table, the trend is going left and down direction, the radius gets bigger. And it seems like Sr and S are too far apart for charges to S bigger than Sr. They are even separated by one whole period. Please explain.

These are my questions. Please help me :'(

Kneecoal

10+ Year Member
Mar 2, 2009
Long Island, NY
Status
Pre-Dental
for 128, NaOH is a strong base, so it'll dissociate completely into Na+ and OH- ions. HF, however, is a weak acid, so it'll only partly dissociate. that means you'll have some H+, some F-, and also some HF (and the H+ and OH- floating around will also be forming H2O here and there)

dl9006

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jul 2, 2008
Status
Dental Student
Hello, everyone!
This is my first time posting here:)
It's been so long since I took my general chemistry, and I cannot remember much.
While I was doing Destroyer, I had several questions that I cannot understand. So please please help me~

A solution of NaOH and HF are titrated to the endpoint of a titration. The final solution will contain?

(a) Na+ and F-
(b) H2O, H+, OH-, HF, Na+, and F-
(c) H2O, F-, and Na+
(d) Na+ and F-, NaOH
(e) NaOH and HF in a 1:1 mole ratio

Also in #203, it says Sr++ is smaller than S-- since it forms a positive ion.