Dexmetomidine

Discussion in 'Anesthesiology' started by izzy025, May 13, 2008.

1. izzy025

izzy025 New Member

Attending Physician
    i'm a novice when it comes to dexmetomidine. i do alot of MAC cases using propofol what are the typical pros/cons of dexmetomidine the dosing patterns to maintain spont. vent for a MAC case contrindications.

also for icu sedation does the same dosing apply.

thanx in advance
    iz

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. 2ndyear

2ndyear Senior Member

Attending Physician
    Biggest problem is that it's not an easy fast on, fast off drug like propofol, or even midazolam for that matter. To really get the full effect you need a 1mcg/kg bolus over 15 minutes, and then an infusion. It does have its place, but certainly not in quick high turnover situations like endoscopy. It's also really not an amnestic.

4. coprolalia

coprolalia Bored Certified

Attending Physician
    No, the biggest problem is people actually spelling dexmedetomidine correctly.

:laugh:

-copro

5. Bougie

Bougie Junior Member

Resident [Any Field]
    I use Precedex for those long painful MAC vascular cases.

You know...the ones where they need the patient to hold their breath once every hour or so to fluro and of course that's precisely when the patient decides to get disinhibited and flail since your attending thinks 7mg of Versed and nothing else is a good idea in a 79 year old vasculopath with Alzheimer's.

Those cases...and the bradycardia helps with diastolic coronary blahblahblah...

6. jetproppilot

jetproppilot Turboprop Driver

Great, great drug.

Acts like 2nd Year posted.

Great for CABGs, big backs, etc.

Good for long MACs too if you can endure the 10-15 minutes up front.

I'd say start with midaz for the initial buzz....simultaneously start the dex infusion sans bolus for a long MAC case.

7. Arch Guillotti

Arch Guillotti Senior Member
    Administrator Physician Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved