Did anyone else find Cell and Molecular Biology extremely difficult??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jmcunnin

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a post-bacc student. I started my prereqs a few semesters ago. So far I've taken 10 prereqs, and I have earned 8 A's and 2 B's. I'd like to think that was a pretty decent start for not having taken any science classes in approximately 6 years or so. I'm currently registered in Orgo Chem 2 and Cell and Molec. I have an A in Orgo 2, but I am struggling in Cell and Molec. My question is...is that class difficult for most people?? I definitely find I do better in Chemistry classes, but I did make an A in Microbiology. I don't know I guess I'm feeling a little down and out, and was just looking for some encouragement!

Members don't see this ad.

What does your class focus on (organelle function, cell signaling, DNA replication/modification)? A lot of it is memorization, but there is a lot of flow-chart concepts too (similar to Orgo).

What does your class focus on (organelle function, cell signaling, DNA replication/modification)? A lot of it is memorization, but there is a lot of flow-chart concepts too (similar to Orgo).

Currently we are mainly focusing on DNA replication, transcription, translation. I've heard it's a lot of memorization, and that's the thing...I'm pretty good at memorizing. Didn't work out on the first test though. We have our 2nd test on Thursday. For what it's worth, a lot of others in the class are feeling the same way as me from what I hear. So I don't know if it's just the way the class is being taught, or if it's just a really tough class in general.

Members don't see this ad :)
I think the curriculum and testing methods can vary from professor to professor. Khan Academy I'm sure has something on those subjects - maybe those will help.