Difference between EMS and Emergency medicine and Critical Care?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MoGhazidoc1990

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I am an final year med student and have a great interest in going into emergency medicine most particularly on the trauma side of things.

I have a few questions however about some fellowship programs pertaining to ER medicine.

What exactly is an EMS fellowship or the EMS career? By what I have read I haven't really got a solid idea, it seems to be more of an administrative position. Can you have a career in field work and what kind of field work will you be doing and what kind of things can you do in Pre hospital care?

Also I found this on the Shock trauma center websitehttp://umm.edu/programs/shock-trauma/professionals/original-division-of-critical-care-and-trauma-education/education/emergency-medicine-and-critical-care-fellowship

Now a member of this site in a post that I had said this would not turn you into a surgeon but allow you to handle or manage surgical trauma patients. My question here is can this also lead to a career in prehospital care or is it more based in an established OR or ER?

Now most people on this site know that I want to also have a medical career in the military and also have an interest in prehospital care. Out of these two fellowships what would suit me more for Battlefield medicine if I wanted to be trained in, how to receive a trauma patient, how to resuscitate that patient and stabilize him/her and how to treat wounds and trauma to the point where I could stabilize enough to send him to the next higher level of care, all while have very spartan like or in other words only the minimalist equipment, like at a small FOB or COP? Again trauma being my main focus in EM

Thanks
Mo

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there,