Different career paths ideas? Ph.D. in different areas ideas?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psychjailguy

Reaction score
Hello, everyone, I am posting to see what other options I might have in pursuit of a Ph.D. My background is the following:

I hold a B.S in Criminal Justice, a minor in Psych (GPA 3.65); MS in Criminal Justice (GPA. 3.84). I also have am currently enrolled in an MS in clinical mental health counseling, current GPA 3.63. I took the GRE one time in 2014 and basically did not study for it at all. I was working full-time, taking care of my ill father, who passed in 2017 and applying to the MS program for CJ. I just took the GRE because my school told me I needed to. I think I took it about two or three weeks after I was told I had to. I know I have to retake the GRE to be considered for "reliable" Ph.D. programs.

I do not have basically any research experience; however, I have what you would call extensive work experience. I have work for a County Correctional facility as a correctional officer (CO) for two years while in school; then a Federal Prison as a CO for 6 months. I then obtained a state job as a police officer. My father ended up dying last year and I had to resign from my job because I was basically a mess and could not handle such a high-stress job with the passing of my father. I worked 6 hrs away, the family had to come first at that time