Dilemma - Beginning DPT this year versus next year...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hawks811

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Thought I would run my situation by others on this board that may be aspiring physical therapists or current physical therapists just to gather some additional input.

I've been accepted to begin a PT program starting this August. After I finished applying for schools last year, I was able to land a job for the year in the Finance field (I am an undergraduate Finance major that has been out of school for a few years, so I am a non-traditional student).

I have been able to save up a decent amount of money to go into school with this year, but at the school that I am accepted at, tuition is still going to run me about 65-66 thousand dollars total. I figure I'll have to add about 20k in additional loans for other expenses over the course of three years on top of that. Which brings me to about 85-90k for total loans coming out of school.

My dilemma is that I'm wondering if I should begin this year or defer and enter next year. I could continue working at my current job until beginning the program in 2012, and I would then most likely only need to take out loans for tuition only (I should have enough saved by then to cover my other expenses over the course of the 3 year program).

Basically, does it make sense to delay enrollment 1 year if it means taking out about 65-67 thousand in loans versus 85-90 thousand in loans?

Members don't see this ad.

1. Make sure Physical Therapy is the career path you want at this point in time
2. Make sure your spot will be secure for next year
3. Work the extra year and take the extra 20-30K to put it towards school
4. Profit!:banana:

If you can save that amount of money before school and have your education taken care of, then should definitely do it!

1. Make sure Physical Therapy is the career path you want at this point in time