Discussing Code Status

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureInternist

Membership Revoked
Removed
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Since a whole bunch of interns will be starting soon (congrats) I figured I would try to get input from those who have been through intern year already as to their way of approaching a code status discussion

Even now as an attending, I am appalled by the lack of training we get in this, the lack of laymen's terms used during these discussions and the apprehension that so many doctors seem to face when the time to discuss it comes up

I work as a hospitalist (mostly nights & purely admissions when on nights) so for me, it is important to have the pt as neatly gift wrapped as possible for the incoming rounder the next day & this (to me) involves clarifying a code status
Our census's average age is easily >60, with a LOT of >2.5SD away people as well :)

Below is a gist of what I say, with added bits & bobs here & there depending on the situation

Critique is MORE than welcome since I have been adjusting my words since intern year & there is always more tweaking that can be done

============================================================================

So Mr Smith, unfortunately you have an infection in your lungs, called a pneumonia, and we are going to put you in the hospital for antibiotics & to check if the infection has gone into your blood or not.
Now the last thing I want to talk to you about is a bit delicate but important
Do you know what an advanced directive or living will is
(Most say no, some liken it to the POA)
Basically it is a way to make sure that you & me are on the same page, in regards to what to do, or what not to do if things go downhill