• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

swindle569

10+ Year Member
Apr 16, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Dental
Hi, I am a new poster here on SDN. I am currently pre-dental and have taken the DAT (20+ score on AA and PAT). Right now I am an undergrad in a university ranked around 20-25 nationally majoring in biology. I was academically dismissed a year ago because I was not doing well in my classes due to lack of motivation. I am working towards my degree right now and have a 3.1 GPA. Is it almost impossible to get admitted to a dental school if I was dismissed before? Anyone here had the same problem before? Any contribution to this question would be appreciated. Thanks~

Shunwei

10+ Year Member
May 26, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Dentist
Hi, I am a new poster here on SDN. I am currently pre-dental and have taken the DAT (20+ score on AA and PAT). Right now I am an undergrad in a university ranked around 20-25 nationally majoring in biology. I was academically dismissed a year ago because I was not doing well in my classes due to lack of motivation. I am working towards my degree right now and have a 3.1 GPA. Is it almost impossible to get admitted to a dental school if I was dismissed before? Anyone here had the same problem before? Any contribution to this question would be appreciated. Thanks~

It won't look good, but it's not something you can't overcome. Do as well as you can for the rest of your undergrad career and you should be ok. Be prepared as well to candidly discuss this issue with your interviewer and possibly essay.

Selso2109

10+ Year Member
Feb 21, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Dental Student