Dissertation topic and Internship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psychstuca

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
My question might not be a very typical one for this forum. Do people feel that having a dissertation research topic and doing research on the population that is entirely different from what you want for your internship might hurt your chances to be selected for your desired intership setting?

For example, if I consider doing my dissertation research, say, on emotions and personality in forensic or multicultural area, would this might somewhat hurt my chances to be matched at the VA in 2 years?

I am a PsyD student interested in clinical work first and foremost and won't be applying to any research-heavy intership programs.

I appreciate any thoughts on this! If someone tells me I worry too much, I'll accept that too :)

Members don't see this ad.

I'm on my way to internship, so I'll give you my 2 cents. All things being equal, I think it can be helpful to have a dissertation topic that maps on to the clinical setting you hope to wind up at for internship. My friend is going to a VA next year, and her dissertation relates to PTSD, which I think was a plus in getting the internship there.