DO and Anesthesiology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

littlephiLLy

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a third year osteopathic student interested in allopathic anesthesia spots. I just took COMLEX 1 and scored 98th percentile. Some people are telling me that I should still take USMLE, but i really don't see the point in doing so, considering i may not do as well as i did on COMLEX. What would i be trying to prove by taking USMLE? Any input is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Some Allopathic programs accept COMLEX scores while some do not.
Therefore you may knock yourself out of the running at several programs if you don't take the USMLE. MCW requires the USMLE for all applicants: http://www.mcw.edu/anesthesiology/residency/applicationrequirements.htm

You may want to research old threads as you will find plenty of good posts about this.

I am a third year osteopathic student interested in allopathic anesthesia spots. I just took COMLEX 1 and scored 98th percentile. Some people are telling me that I should still take USMLE, but i really don't see the point in doing so, considering i may not do as well as i did on COMLEX. What would i be trying to prove by taking USMLE? Any input is appreciated.

I'm certainly not an authority on the issue, but having a USMLE score puts you on the same playing field as allopathic applicants; it lets PDs compare apples to apples, as far as numbers are concerned.

I've heard/read that it is a good idea to contact PDs at places you are really interested in and ask them if they will want to see a USMLE score with your application.

Congrats on the great COMLEX score.

Members don't see this ad :)