Do I have a chance to get in?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cs558

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am 24 and a '10 graduate from a chemical engineering program. I realized late that engineering wasn't for me so I decided to pursue something healthcare related. I finished my bachelors because I only had a year left. After research and some shadowing I fell in love with dentistry. So, I finished the bio hours needed for pre-dental.

Here is my concern. I have a pitiful gpa (2.9 overall, 3 science), no thanks to poor study habits my freshman and sophomore year. My dat scores are

AA - 19
Bio - 20
GC - 18
OC - 17
QR - 19
RC - 21
PA - 21

I have about 10 hours shadowing and volunteer experience a piece. According to my pre-health advisor, my letter of evaluation is the best she's ever read. Will all of this be sufficient for getting into or interviewing with any of the 8 schools to which I have applied? If not, what can I do to improve my chances?

The schools are university of ms,nj, il at Chicago, tx at san Antonio and Houston, nc at chapel hill, nyu and nova southeastern.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am 24 and a '10 graduate from a chemical engineering program. I realized late that engineering wasn't for me so I decided to pursue something healthcare related. I finished my bachelors because I only had a year left. After research and some shadowing I fell in love with dentistry. So, I finished the bio hours needed for pre-dental.

Here is my concern. I have a pitiful gpa (2.9 overall, 3 science), no thanks to poor study habits my freshman and sophomore year. My dat scores are

AA - 19 I have about 10 hours shadowing and volunteer
Bio - 20 experience a piece. According to my pre-health advisor, my letter of
GC - 18 evaluation is the best she's ever read. Will all of this be sufficient for
OC - 17 getting into or interviewing with any of the 8 schools to which I have